With some of the toughest and most complex DUI laws across the nation, the Arizona Legislature updates and/or changes the state’s driving laws continually over the years. Under the new AZ DUI statute, a drunk driving conviction is accompanied by numerous strict penalties, including increased time in jail, huge monetary fines and license suspension. Substance abuse screening and an alcohol treatment program can also be a vigorously enforced prerequisite. These sentences are especially severe for first time offenders.
AZ law requires that, once arrested for a DUI-related incident, you must submit to analysis of your blood, breath or urine. If you decline to do so, the Arizona DMV can suspend your driving privileges for 12 months (you will still be cited for a DUI), or two years if you have previously refused these tests. Along with license suspension, you may perhaps have to carry out community service or be put under probation.
Taking effect back in 1998 by the Arizona legislature, an Extreme DUI is categorized as a class one misdemeanor. If someone has a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level above .150, they will be charged with an Extreme DUI under §28-1382 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. The obligatory lowest sentence for a first offense Extreme DUI is 30 consecutive days in jail – as well as fines and assessments that can total around $3,000 – while the highest sentence is six months.
After this, it is a legal obligation to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle that is located near the steering column and connected to a breathalyzer-type device. To start your vehicle, you must first blow into the mouthpiece and, if it detects alcohol, the vehicle will not start. After successfully starting, the vehicle will then continually signal for the driver to blow into the device again at random times during the journey, thereby guaranteeing that consumption of alcohol has not occurred since the car was started. The cost of installing a device such as this is approximately $80 per month.
Due to such strict driving laws, it is vital that those faced with drunk driving charges have the most skilled legal representatives on hand, so that they can support your case and fight for your freedom. If you are pulled over by a police officer who begins questioning you about drinking or who requests that you perform a blood, urine or breath test, you should request to call an attorney straight away, before submitting to anything that may possibly incriminate you. Drunk driving charges in Arizona are exceedingly serious and necessitate knowledgeable legal representation.
A criminal conviction can frequently result in future harm to your education, career, and other social situations. Fighting on your behalf, the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod take pride in providing a methodical and zealous defense to the criminally accused. Mr. Penrod is rated AV® for excellence, having received the highest competency rating from Martindale-Hubbell, the national lawyer rating service. If you are in need of an expert DUI attorney, they can provide qualified legal representation and aggressively dispute any criminal case you are facing.
“Law, without force, is impotent.” – Blaise Pascal
If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated, the law team led by Craig Penrod can provide indispensable advice to those who have been issued with a DUI in Arizona. They supply well-versed criminal defense lawyers with years of expertise regarding DUI cases, manslaughter, domestic violence, white collar crimes, aggravated assault and drug offenses, and offer the finest criminal counsel available.
Based in Tempe, the Law Offices of Craig W. Penrod, P.C. have been fighting DUI defense cases for over three decades throughout Phoenix, Mesa, Scottsdale, Chandler, Flagstaff, Glendale and Avondale. They can also help residents living in Casa Grande, Claypool, Apache Junction, Prescott and Surprise. For a free case consultation, please visit online at Penrod DUI Law or call 480-753-5888.